Why I am here – last resort.

About 2 and 1/2 years ago, I considered getting a “myspace” account. I was exactly the right age, otherwise I would have waited. My friend let me browse her page to get a feel for it. In the upper right corner of the profile page was a link: View all blog entries. That is what caught my eye and finalized my signing up for a myspace. I had found out about blogging from an older friend of mine, who has one. It was the best invention in the world to me. A place, where you can speak on your thoughts – without speaking! Where other people can visit, and give their perspective. An ultimate meeting of the minds and of knowledge. But there was a big point I was missing in terms of myspace.

The main thing was: TEENS DON’T BLOG. And if they do, they blog primarily of the following:
-“Love”;breakups;makeups
-Depression
-Drama;”Degrassi” type situations
-Depressing poetry
-Survey’s from Bzoink.com

It was annoying, but after I set up my page I got to blogging. It was a disaster. If I wanted traffic to my blog, I’d have to post a million bulletins. No one would comment and give their view on what I wrote. I was talking to myself. Until one fateful day where I blogged about a racial issue, and got threatened. I packed up and closed shop. Myspace deleted.

I tried blogger, but blogger just wasn’t the thing for me. I didn’t know how to operate it and the tags – it was just difficult. I don’t even remember if they had tags, but I couldn’t find anyone.

I got another myspace, and tried a different blogging strategy. Still nothing. One classmate of mine even told me he hates to read, and just wasn’t interested. Maybe I’m too boring and beyond my years. However I do post lightheartedly, just in detail. Myspace blogs have limited post options: No bullet points, no spell check, so I must rely on Mozilla spellchecker. I just want people to hear me. That’s it.

As time progresses, I will transfer blog posts from my myspace blog, and some from the one I saved in the old account.* WordPress looks great, and the post has a mircosoft word-like interface. The tags will spread  the word for me. And the blog decorations are beautiful. I hope this will prove to be a change in my quest for a comfortable blogging home. =)

*I will not be doing this, as I have moved my focus to alternative education.**

**I am back to general blogging. My blogging about education has moved to democraticeducation.org, although much of my early posts about education are still on this site.

Posted on August 24, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

