Your Fatal Flaw, the One that Can Cost You Your Life.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians, by author Rick Riordan. It’s a series of wondrous, fast-paced, and “modern day” tales of Greek mythological events. Events so possible and up to par with the times that you could swear they really did and are happening. It is rather humorous, and from a book signing, I can see that he’s a natural born comedian. But the novel is dangerously prophetic as well.

It features the main character, Percy Jackson, who, in the book I’m currently reading, is fourteen. He is the son of Poseidon, the sea god. Monsters pursue him because he is a son of “The Big Three”, Poseidon, Zeus, and Hades, the ones who swore off “demigod” children with mortals. The reason being that kids of theirs were deemed to powerful.

Well, you should buy the books for yourself. They’re available at Target. There is way too much to cover. But I’m posting to an invisible audience here today to mention one interesting thing I learned as I am finishing the end of book three. Fatal flaws. In a conversation with Athena, goddess of wisdom, Percy was re-enlightened about fatal flaws. It is ONE flaw (maybe more if you’re unlucky) of gods and all creatures, mortal and immortal, that can cost them their life. Now, in book two when Athena’s demigod daughter, Annabeth told Percy about this, I was thinking something big. But, the unfortunate thing about fatal flaws is that they appear very minor and typical, and can harmfully go unnoticed for a long time. They’re so normal that they are seen as good. Annabeth told Percy that her fatal flaw was pride. She feels she can do anything and is prideful in many of her events. It’s fatal because her need not to back down from the pedestal (figuratively) she’s made (and she inspires to be the best architect ever) can cost her to be killed or endure death or punishment not to look bad or wrong.

Athena’s conversation got Percy to finally know about his fatal flaw: “personal loyalty”. She said to him, ‘”To save a friend, you would sacrifice the world. In a hero of the prophecy, that is very, very dangerous.”‘ ‘”The most dangerous flaws are those which are good in moderation.”‘ That is absolutely correct, which doesn’t seem like a surprise to be spoken by her. Now what she means is that, an everyday attribute of one’s personality, if taken out of a moderate balance can get one in trouble. So I started thinking, what’s my fatal flaw?

I was thinking, dominance, because I can be controlling for the sake of good intention and cause sometimes. But that wouldn’t cost me to perish. I was thinking independence, because my need to be different causes me loneliness and suffering. What is it that can ruin my life? That was it. I stopped thinking of death, and what could kill me, and thought of life instead. My fatal flaw is… hope. I have a strong sense of hope in the form of dreams and aspirations, which leads to idealism. Silly huh? Everyone dreams. But I go WAY to far. When thought comes to mind, I dream it out first. I put everything into scenario form. I could lose weight like this; and I picture it in my mind. I could prepare for college this way, I can clean my room like this.

NOTHING ever happens. I dream and dream, but life stays the same. Even worse. Instead of losing weight, I have gained. Instead of getting organized, I’ve gotten messier. Instead of having a significant other, I am shunned, and have had failed relationships time and time again. I am dreaming my life away to nothingness and regression.

But there is always a solution in the problem. I am replacing thought with action. I’m avoiding the use of words such as have to, will, must, should, maybe, I guess, probably, and am going to, if over-dreaming up a scenario will be the result. Most times I toggle with good thought when I could be making a difference right now. I never write it down, or I will sit there dreaming until it is too late in the day to do something. Then I procrastinate to a critical level and give up.

Moderation is the key. It’s ok to to have a good goal about something, but dwelling too much on the goal and what could be, instead of doing something about it is what’s fatal.

So…
What’s your fatal flaw?

Posted on August 28, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well, what an enlightening post. There are various reasons to the causes of procrastination. http://www.stop-procrastination.org is an informative website which explains to you some of the reasons of procrastination and help you to prevent them. Very useful indeed. You might wanna check it out.

  2. I’ve often wondered about my fatal flaw. I’ve done so many research projects that have revealed others’ fatal flaws, but I’ve never yet found my own. Whatever mine actually is, I think it might be closer to what you’ve described as yours.

    Hope. I’m a writer so all I do is write about everything I want, think about, that sort of thing. It’s hard to convince yourself to really do something if you can imagine it even better.

    I’m glad I found your blog. šŸ˜€ Not sure I remember how. Weird connected string of blogs and comments, I would say. Anyway.

Leave a Reply

