Why Astrology Doesn’t Make Sense (to me)

Does that look like a guy holding a water pitcher?

After my separation from religion in high school, I was looking for comfort. Although Christianity only brought me fear and anger, I was sure some other faith or practice would take it’s place as my source of answers and meaning in this world. My first stop was astrology. Everyone around me believes in it, and when I looked into it beyond the rigged horoscopes of the news outlets, it appeared sound and scientifically-based. Finally, a faith that has actually been researched and will provide relevant proof in the form of charts and documents once the correct data was input! I plunged into natal astrology.

First I went to a site that would give me that information. Next I asked my mom if I could see my birth certificate (I was born in the morning, how cool is that?). I entered the information without a thought as to if the site was run by stalkers or anything and presto! My natal chart! I must admit, much of it was and still is spot on, and for the parts that were awkward, I figured those things would come to pass later in my life. It was a happy moment. I read all the details of my chart, and I  even went to three other sites claiming to produce the same results and they did when I put in my information. That strengthened my acceptance of Astrology, because I figured that that was evidence – I could repeat the test and get the same results right?

Being a Pisces Sun with a Scorpio Moon was awesome. I felt so special, cool, and mysterious. I was the only person who knew this much about me. Things went well until I realized that scientists, skeptics, and other atheists did not approve of astrology. They considered it to be based on ancient times that have changed. Many said that there’s no proof that the Greek mythologies that go along with the signs are true. Scientists like Richard Dawkins focused heavily on horoscopes in the entertainment sections of newspapers. Initially I felt, well they don’t understand astrology, and if they’re going to attack the obviously rigged snapshot horoscopes, then there’s no reason to listen to their arguments. For a few years I figured that some scientist will eventually provide evidence to the claims of astrology, and I could feel even more confident in my beliefs.

Around those times in high school, a science teacher introduced me and my peers to the Myers-Briggs personality type tests (actually assessments). Based on the work of psychologist Carl Jung, the assessment was actually created to check for the traits that Carl Jung recognized to exist, such as introversion and extroversion. I took the test and my results were INFP. Introverted, iNtuitive, Feeling, Perceiving:

INFPs are introspective, private, creative and highly idealistic individuals that have a constant desire to be on a meaningful path. They are driven by their values and seek peace. Empathetic and compassionate, they want to help others and humanity as a whole. INFPs are imaginative, artistic and often have a talent for language and writing. They can also be described as easygoing, selfless, guarded, adaptable, patient and loyal.

It was odd and amazing. The detailed description sounded just like a Pisces! So all INFP’s are Pisceans! NO!  Many people online would say things like, Yeah, I’m an Aries INFP :-). Well, huh? I tried to ignore that.

Traditional
Pisces Traits

Imaginative and sensitive
Compassionate and kind
Selfless and unworldly
Intuitive and sympathetic

Over time I came to repeat this test and got INTP:

INTP

Snapshot: A Love of Problem – Solving
Dominant Function: Introverted Thinking
Quiet, contained, flexible, adaptable, skeptical, sometimes critical, always analytical… INTP’s naturally question and critique as they seek to develop logical explanations for what interests them. They are interested more in concepts and ideas than in social interaction. They can focus deeply to solve problems but have little need to control their world.

That makes sense TOO! And lo and behold, my Venus sign and Mars signs (and a couple of things) are in Aquarius. Air types like Aquarians are thinkers and logical people. And often descriptions of them fit the descriptions of INTP’s. So I took the tests over and over again on any website I could find until I could predict the questions. Once I was able to predict questions I knew it was time to give up. To know what was on the test would not be good for my experiment.

Traditional
Aquarian Traits

Friendly and humanitarian
Honest and loyal
Original and inventive
Independent and intellectual

You’d think that this would be strengthening my belief, and it did. After a while however, I was growing suspicious. I always fluctuate between those two types T & F. That was normal, and many people experience this, because it’s not possible to be ALL rational or ALL emotional, and when it came to T & F, I was just closer to being tied. That’s the way my behavior is. Anyway, the reason the suspicion came in was because in my frantic search for personality tests I came across the Enneagram. The Enneagram is just like the MBTI, however, it has some an esoteric and spiritual basis. My results…drumroll please…

Fours are emotionally complex and highly sensitive. They long to be understood and appreciated for their authentic selves, but easily feel misunderstood and unappreciated. They have a tendency to withdraw in the face of a world that seems harsh or crude, and are often somewhat moody or temperamental. They are emotionally centered and spend much of their lives immersed in their internal mental landscapes, where they feel free to cultivate and analyse their feelings. A desire to manifest this internal world often leads Fours to an interest in the arts, and some do become actual artists. Whether artistic or not, however, most Fours are aesthetically sensitive and concerned with self-expression and self-revelation, whether it be in the clothes they wear or in the overall nature of their often idiosyncratic lifestyles.

We have named personality type Five The Investigator because, more than any other type, Fives want to find out why things are the way they are. They want to understand how the world works, whether it is the cosmos, the microscopic world, the animal, vegetable, or mineral kingdoms—or the inner world of their imaginations. They are always searching, asking questions, and delving into things in depth. They do not accept received opinions and doctrines, feeling a strong need to test the truth of most assumptions for themselves.

WTF? This isn’t astrology – how would they know? How?!! My beliefs were shattering right before me. Doubt had taken it’s place and it didn’t feel good. And for the first time, I was able to understand why people hold on to their religious faith in spite of the evidence and experiments. What I couldn’t deny was my inherent personality. This thinking/feeling thing describes me more than all the other types I have looked at. My personality is my personality. The problem was astrology. It wasn’t that sacred any more…I went on a hiatus. Part 2.

Posted on August 4, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

